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Introduction 
 
Specified Medicaid providers in New York State are required to have a compliance program that meets 
the requirements of the Social Services Law §363-d (SSL §363-d) and 18 New York Code of Rules and 
Regulations Part 521 (18 NYCRR 521).  If a Medicaid provider is required to have a compliance 
program, the provider must certify to the New York State Department of Health (DOH) that it has a 
compliance program that meets the requirements of SSL§363-d and 18 NYCRR Part 521.  The 
certification must be done in December of each year for Medicaid providers already serving Medicaid 
recipients and the certification must be done at the time Medicaid providers enroll with DOH for 
participation as a Medicaid provider, if the provider is required to have a compliance program.   
 
Purpose of this Compliance Alert 
 
The purpose of this Compliance Alert is to: 
 
1. identify Medicaid providers who must have a compliance program and who must annually 

certify on OMIG’s Web site that their compliance program meets New York State’s mandatory 
compliance program requirement;  

2. remind providers of their annual certification requirement during December each year; 
3. advise newly enrolling Medicaid providers of the certification requirement; 
4. recommend that providers conduct a self assessment of their compliance programs prior to 

completing the certification; and 
5. provide a self-assessment tool that can be used by Medicaid providers as they conduct their self- 

assessment activities.   
 
Compliance Program Obligation for Some Medicaid Providers 
 
SSL§363-d and  18 NYCRR 521 require the following Medicaid participating providers of health care 
services and supplies (Medicaid providers) to implement a compliance program that meets the 
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requirements of SSL§363-d and 18 NYCRR 521:  
 

(a) persons subject to the provisions of article 28 or 36 of the New York State Public 
Health Law; 

(b) persons subject to the provisions of article 16 or 31 of the New York State 
Mental Hygiene Law; and 

(c) other persons, providers or affiliates who provide care, services or supplies under 
the … Medicaid program, or persons who submit claims for care, services or 
supplies for or on behalf of another person or provider for which the Medicaid 
program is or should be reasonably expected by a provider to be a substantial 
portion of their business operations. 

(Emphasis added)  
Source: 18 NYCRR §521.1.  (Note:  “persons” is not limited to natural persons.) 
 
The regulations define “substantial portion of business operations” for purposes of determining if the 
Medicaid provider must have a compliance program to be any of the following:  
 

(1) when a person, provider, or affiliate claims or orders, or has claimed or has 
ordered, or should be reasonably expected to claim or order at least $500,000 
in any consecutive 12-month period from the Medical Assistance Program 
[Medicaid];  

(2) when a person, provider, or affiliate receives or has received, or should be 
reasonably expected to receive, at least $500,000 in any consecutive 12-
month period directly or indirectly from … [Medicaid]; or  

(3) when a person, provider, or affiliate who submits or has submitted claims for 
care, services, or supplies to the … [Medicaid] program on behalf of another 
person or persons in the aggregate of at least $500,000 in any consecutive 12-
month period.  

(Emphasis added)  
Source: 18 NYCRR §521.2 (b). 

 
The regulation refers to payments received by a provider that are made “directly or indirectly” from 
Medicaid.  It should be noted that direct payments include payments which the Medicaid provider 
receives directly from the Medicaid program.  The most common example of a direct payment is a fee- 
for-service payment made to a Medicaid provider.  Indirect payments include payments which the 
provider receives for providing covered services to Medicaid recipients from a source other than directly 
from New York’s Medicaid program.  The most common example of an indirect payment is a payment 
made by a managed care organization (MCO) under the MCO’s managed Medicaid program.  New 
York’s Medicaid payment to the MCO is considered a direct payment, while payment by the MCO to 
the provider of the Medicaid service is considered an indirect payment.   
 
Not all Medicaid providers are required to have a compliance program under SSL§363-d and 18 
NYCRR 521.  Providers who provide covered Medicaid services to Medicaid recipients and who are 
subject to articles 28 or 36 of the Public Health Law or subject to articles 16 or 31 of the Mental 
Hygiene Law must have a compliance program meeting the requirements of SSL§363-d and 18 NYCRR 
521, regardless of how much they are paid by the Medicaid program.  However, providers not subject to 
articles 28 or 36 of the Public Health Law or subject to articles 16 or 31 of the Mental Hygiene Law 
must have compliance programs if they meet the claiming, ordering, or payment threshold of $500,000 
during a consecutive 12-month period. It is noted that the regulatory language in 18 NYCRR 521.2(b) 
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connects the $500,000 threshold to actually meeting that threshold or if meeting the threshold is 
“reasonably expected” to occur.     
 
Certification Obligation 
 
Medicaid providers required to have a compliance program are required to certify that they have 
implemented a compliance program that meets the requirements of SSL§363-d and 18 NYCRR 521.  
The certification obligation follows from the obligation to implement a compliance program.   
 
18 New York Code of Rules and Regulations §521.3(b) provides: 

 
(b) Upon applying for enrollment in the medical assistance program, and during the month of 

December each year thereafter, a required provider shall certify to the department, using a 
form provided by the Office of the Medicaid Inspector General on its Web site, that a 
compliance program meeting the requirements of this Part is in place. The Office of the 
Medicaid Inspector General will make available on its Web site compliance program 
guidelines for certain types of required providers.  

 
The Medicaid provider must certify electronically using a form that is available on OMIG’s Web site.  
The current link to the certification form is https://www.omig.ny.gov/data/content/view/270/53/ . 
OMIG Webinar #14, presented on November 14, 2011, provides information on how to complete the 
2011 certification form.  Access to that session is available through the following link:  
http://www.omig.ny.gov/data/content/view/204/294/.  The 2012 certification form will be available on 
OMIG’s Web site on December 1, 2012.   
 
Certification as Part of the Medicaid Application Process with the Department of Health1  
As part of DOH’s Medicaid application process, providers who are required to have a compliance 
program must certify “… that the provider and its affiliates have adopted, implemented, and maintain an 
effective compliance program that meets the requirements of NYS Social Services Law §363-d and 18 
NYCRR Part 521.”  If the applying provider is not subject to one or more of the articles from New 
York’s Public Health Law or the Mental Hygiene Law, or the $500,000 threshold (as described above) 
do not apply, then the certification obligation does not apply to that provider.  The applicant as a 
Medicaid provider should communicate to the Department of Health that the certification obligation is 
not applicable.   
 
If the applying provider is subject to one or more of the articles from New York’s Public Health Law or 
the Mental Hygiene Law, or if the $500,000 threshold (as described above) does apply, then the 
certification obligation applies to the provider.  The applicant as a Medicaid provider must, prior to 
completing the Medicaid application, implement a compliance program that meets the requirements of 
SSL §363-d and 18 NYCRR Part 521.  Once the compliance program is implemented, the applicant 
should conduct a self assessment as described below.  If, following the self assessment, the provider 
determines that it has a compliance program that meets the requirements of SSL §363-d and 18 NYCRR 
Part 521, the applicant should certify using OMIG’s form that is currently available at the following 
link: https://www.omig.ny.gov/data/content/view/270/53/ . The applicant can then communicate to the 
Department of Health that the certification obligation has been satisfied and the applicant can provide to 

                                                 
1 Those applying to become Medicaid providers may wish to consult OMIG’s Compliance Alert 2011-05, Compliance 
Program Requirement for New Medicaid Providers, published on May 5, 2011, and   available through the following 
link: http://www.omig.ny.gov/data/images/stories/compliance_alerts/compliance_alert_2011-05.pdf . 
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the Department of Health the information necessary to complete its application. 
 
Annual Certification for Medicaid Providers  
 
Medicaid providers already in the Medicaid program who are required to have a compliance program 
must certify each December, “… that the provider and its affiliates have adopted, implemented and 
maintain an effective compliance program that meets the requirements of NYS Social Services Law 
§363-d and 18 NYCRR Part 521.”   
 
OMIG’s Recommendation – What Providers Should do Prior to Their Annual Certification 
 
1. Conduct a self assessment of the compliance program.   

a. Compliance programs must conform to the requirements of SSL §363-d and 18 NYCRR 
Part 521.   

b. Develop a self-assessment tool:  Providers can refer to OMIG’s Compliance Alert 2010-
01 that can be accessed through the following link as a starting point for their tool: 
http://www.omig.ny.gov/data/images/stories/compliance_alerts/2010-02.pdf .  Providers 
may wish to customize their self-assessment tool to address prior compliance issues or 
specific compliance risk areas that may exist for their provider type. Other resources can 
be found in OMIG’s forms that can be accessed in the OMIG Compliance Library at the 
following link:  http://www.omig.ny.gov/data/content/view/246/328/.  Providers’ self 
assessments should not be submitted to OMIG, unless specifically requested as part of a 
compliance program review by OMIG.    

c. Conduct the self assessment early in the year that the certification will be made:  
Conducting a self assessment early each year will give the provider an opportunity to 
make corrections or update the compliance program prior to the certification in 
December.  

d. Provide the results of the self assessment to senior leadership and the governing board of 
the provider.   

e. Determine if the compliance program complies with the requirements of SSL §363-d and 
18 NYCRR Part 521.   

f. If during December the provider determines that its compliance program does not 
comply with the statutory and regulatory requirements, do not certify!!  In the 
alternative, follow the directions on the certification form for when a provider cannot 
certify.   

 
2. Verify who the certifying official will be.  The certification form includes directions on who 

should be the certifying official.  In most cases, the certifying official should not be the 
compliance officer.   

 
3. Identify the Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) that the provider uses when 

receiving payment for services rendered to Medicaid recipients.  If more than one FEIN is used, 
a separate certification is required for each FEIN that the provider uses to receive Medicaid 
payments.  

  
4. Complete the certification process early in December by accessing the certification form on 

OMIG’s Web site.  The current form is accessed at the following link: 
https://www.omig.ny.gov/data/content/view/270/53/ .   
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Summary 
 
New York State Medicaid providers who are required to have a compliance program are required to 
annually certify “… that the provider and its affiliates have adopted, implemented, and maintain an 
effective compliance program that meets the requirements of NYS Social Services Law §363-d and 18 
NYCRR Part 521.”  OMIG recommends that prior to performing the certification, Medicaid providers 
should conduct a self assessment. 
 
 
 
If you have any questions on this Compliance Alert, or any compliance issue under New York State’s 
mandatory compliance program obligation, please contact the Office of the Medicaid Inspector 
General’s Bureau of Compliance at 518-408-0401 or by e-mail at compliance@omig.ny.gov . 
 


